Printer View

Revised TTB Gluten Statement

19-Feb-2014

Industry Update:  Consistent with the new FDA regulations, TTB will continue to consider “gluten-free” label claims for alcohol beverages that are made from gluten-containing grains to be misleading to consumers who are seeking to avoid the consumption of gluten for health reasons.   However, products made from gluten-containing grains may be labeled  with a statement that the product was “Processed,” “Treated,” or “Crafted” to remove gluten, if that claim is made together with a qualifying statement that warns the consumer that the gluten content of the product cannot be determined and that the product may contain gluten.
http://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2014-2.pdf




Back to Top